A Close Run Thing PDF ✓ A ClosePDF or

➶ A Close Run Thing Free ➬ Author Allan Mallinson – Cutabovebarberagency.co.uk From the Sunday Times bestselling author Allan Mallinson a riveting read with the perfect combination of hero history and adventure perfect for fans of Patrick O Brian and Bernard Cornwell ConvincinglA Close Run Thing Free Author Allan Mallinson Cutabovebarberagencycouk From the Sunday Times bestselling author Allan Mallinson a riveting read with the perfect combination of hero history and adventure perfect for fans of Patrick O Brian and Bernard Cornwell Convincingl From the Sunday Times bestselling author Allan Mallinson a riveting read with the perfect combination of he

Ro history and adventure perfect for fans of Patrick O Brian and Bernard Cornwell Convincingly drawn perfectly paced and expertly writtenA Joy to read Antony Beevor I can t wait to read the next in the series Reader review A captivating read Reader review Allan Mallinson is a truly gifted storyteller Reader review Waterloo The war against Napoleon Bonaparte is raging to its bloody end at WaterlooA young

close kindle thing book A Close pdf A Close Run Thing PDFRo history and adventure perfect for fans of Patrick O Brian and Bernard Cornwell Convincingly drawn perfectly paced and expertly writtenA Joy to read Antony Beevor I can t wait to read the next in the series Reader review A captivating read Reader review Allan Mallinson is a truly gifted storyteller Reader review Waterloo The war against Napoleon Bonaparte is raging to its bloody end at WaterlooA young

A Close Run Thing PDF ✓ A ClosePDF or Brigadier Allan Lawrence Mallinson is an English author and was an officer in the British ArmyMallinson is best known for writing a series of novels chronicling the fictional life of Matthew Hervey an officer serving in the fictional British th Light Dragoons from the late Napoleonic Wars through subseuent colonial conflicts in India North America and south Africa.

10 Comments on "A Close Run Thing PDF ✓ A ClosePDF or"

  • Jean

    A Close Run Thing PDF ✓ A ClosePDF or close kindle, thing book, A Close pdf, A Close Run Thing PDFThis is book one of a series about Cornet Matthew Hervey In this book Hervey is with the Duke of Wellington s Army in the Napoleonic Wars The time frame is about 1814 to 1815 We follow Hervey through the Peninsular Campaign to WaterlooThe book is well written and meticulously researched Mallinsen provides detailed information about the period as well as life in the army The book is weak on dialog The author has done an excellent job in putting the reader into the period of history I assu This is book one of a series about Cornet Matthew Hervey In this book Hervey is with the Duke of Wellington s Army in the Napoleonic Wars The time frame


  • Johnny

    A Close Run Thing PDF ✓ A ClosePDF or close kindle, thing book, A Close pdf, A Close Run Thing PDFWe ve had Sharpe Bernard Cornwell and Rifleman Dodd C S Forester in the infantry of Wellington s Army and the formidable mix of Aubrey Patrick O Brian Bolitho Alexander Kent Delancey C Northcote Parkinson Drinkwater Richard Woodman Hornblower C S Forester and Ramage Dudley Pope to cover the Battles at Sea Now Mallinson a cavalryman himself in a different type of cavalry tells the story of the light dragoons at Toulouse and WaterlooNot only is this the only series on We ve had Sharpe Bernard Cornwell and Rifleman Dodd C S Forester in the infantry of Wellington s Army and the formidable mix of Aubrey Patrick O Brian Bolitho Alexander Kent Delancey C Northcote Parkinson Drinkwater Richard Woodman Hornblower C S Forester and Ramage Dudley Pope to cover the Battles at Sea Now Mallinson a cavalryman himself in a different type of cavalry tells the story of the light dragoons at Toulouse and WaterlooNot only is this the only series on


  • Graham

    A Close Run Thing PDF ✓ A ClosePDF or close kindle, thing book, A Close pdf, A Close Run Thing PDFA CLOSE RUN THING is a difficult book to write about My main knowledge of the Napoleonic Wars comes from reading Bernard Cornwell s Sharpe books probably my favourite series of novels well ever So I was eager to try a rival author and get their take on the same materialThis book is VERY different in terms of style It s heavy on detail and description and in terms of stor


  • Monty Milne

    A Close Run Thing PDF ✓ A ClosePDF or close kindle, thing book, A Close pdf, A Close Run Thing PDFCornwell has done it for the infantry Sharpe O Brian for the navy Aubrey Maturin and Mallinson for the cavalry The style isO Brian than Cornwell and overall the narrative is atmospheric and full of lots of wonderfully authentic details you will learn possiblythan you want to know about Napoleonic veterinary practices or the minutiae of the Anglican ecclesiastical calendar I would have given it 4 stars because I love this kind of thing but for me it stumbles with the cha Cornwell has done it for the infantry Sharpe O Brian for the navy Aubrey Maturin and Mallinson for the cavalry The style isO Brian than Cornwell and overall the narrative is atmospheric and full of lots of wonderfully authentic details you will learn possiblythan you want to know about Napoleonic veterinary practices or the minutiae of the Anglican ecclesiastical calendar I would have given i


  • Gay

    A Close Run Thing PDF ✓ A ClosePDF or close kindle, thing book, A Close pdf, A Close Run Thing PDFThe story is about an ever alert smart capable English officer during the Napoleonic wars Said story is very wordy and therefore slow BUT the those words are amazingly well written That s why 4 stars I am amazed at the ability of good writers to use the English language without being repetitive or collouial I am further amazed at writers whose knowledge of the times and customs are evidenced in the telling As for gaining something from the book there was the bravery of the soldiers fa The story is about an ever alert smart capable English officer during


  • Conrad Kinch

    A Close Run Thing PDF ✓ A ClosePDF or close kindle, thing book, A Close pdf, A Close Run Thing PDFA book to transport you to another time and place in a way that others rarely do This is a very strong first novel that manages to blend the adventure stories of Patrick O Brian with the wit of Jane Austen The rest are just as good The protagonist was a thinking man and a soldier without being a thug I suppose it takes a thinking soldier to write one The portrayal of the life of the Church was fascinating Mallinson excels at portraying the social life of a regiment no doubt from long expe A book to transport you to another time and place in a way that others rarely do This is a very strong first novel that manages to blend the adventure stories of Patric


  • Alex

    A Close Run Thing PDF ✓ A ClosePDF or close kindle, thing book, A Close pdf, A Close Run Thing PDFSet at the end of the Napoleonic era culminating with the battle of Waterloo strikes me as an interesting time period to choose and makes me wonder where he s going to take the series The book is well written and uite captivating but without being a uick simple page flicker indeed the language was actually uite complex and had me reaching for the dictionary on occasion Looking forward to the rest if the series


  • Vivyenne

    A Close Run Thing PDF ✓ A ClosePDF or close kindle, thing book, A Close pdf, A Close Run Thing PDFAllan Mallinson has a beautiful tone reminiscent of authors of the period ending up somewhere between Bernard Cornwell and Patrick O Brian in terms of literary style and what I most liked is that the author painted a vivid picture of the life and times not just the battles Matthew Hervey seems likable and promising though I wish the series had not started with Waterloo but that Hervey had been involved in some of the continental campaigns Worth the reading


  • Dan Piette

    A Close Run Thing PDF ✓ A ClosePDF or close kindle, thing book, A Close pdf, A Close Run Thing PDFA cavalry officer in Wellington


  • R

    A Close Run Thing PDF ✓ A ClosePDF or close kindle, thing book, A Close pdf, A Close Run Thing PDFA Close Run Thing the debut of Allan Mallinson s Hervey series is an interesting read and hopefully a harbinger ofto come as the author pulls off a solid account of the Battle of Waterloo from the perspective of a junior cavalry officer in Wellington s army Allan Mallinson s Hervey joins an impressive list of Napoleonic narratives including Forester s Hornblower Cornwell s Sharpe and O Brien s Aubrey and Maturin In terms of style Hervey lurks somewhere between Hornblower and Aubrey A Close Run Thing the debut of Allan Mallinson s Hervey series is an interesting read and hopefully a harbinger ofto come as the author pulls off a solid account of the Battle of Waterloo from the perspective of a junior cavalry officer in Wellington s army Allan Mallinson s Hervey joins an impressive list of Napoleonic narratives including Forester s Hornblower


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *